The device-mode is a feature in RouterOS that sets specific limitations to a device for accessing specific configurations. By default, all devices have a mode: enterprise
[admin@MikroTik] > system/device-mode/print mode: enterprise
enterprise is a mode that allows all functions on the device. Currently, the only additional mode is home, which means implies limited functionality. The device mode can be changed by the user, but remote access to the device is not enough to change it. After changing the device-mode, using the update command, you need to confirm it by pressing a button on the device itself, or perform a "cold reboot" - that is, unplug the power:
If no power off or button press is performed within the specified time, the update mode change is canceled. If another update is run in parallel, both will be canceled.
It is possible that in the future there will be a number of devices that will be set to mode = mode home at the factory, which means that they will reach users with limited functionality, and then if you want advanced features, you will have to change it yourself.